Pretty Little Liars (Books, not TV Show)

image

Currently, I’m riding the wave that is the world of 5 teenage girls – commonly referred to as the Pretty Little Liars. I was a big fan of the tv series since the beginning, but I have been on and off that particular ride because of how drawn out it is. Just when you think you know what’s going on, they spin the story on its head and get it to break – dance for you. So, I thought, Sara Shepard has already written the books, I think I’ll give them a go.

The first thing that grabbed me was the order of events. The end of the first book is parallel to the end of the first episode. This doesn’t mean that the story runs verbatim, however. No. We are introduced to nearly every important character in the series and she sets up a lot of the secrets that are to be unfolded throughout the rest of the books.

I have to say that I love the books and I’m a huge fan of the author. I understand that the intended audience is young adult, but it really brings me back to my teenage years and the problems I can empathize with are universal.

It is a little grating how often she repeats facts from one book to the other. I’m eating through them so fast that I can do without it, but maybe with the time taken to write one, Shepard felt it was necessary to remind her readers of things that came before. So, with this in mind, I try not to hold it against her.

I am now up to book 6: Killer, and I don’t think it will take long to find out the big secrets. With 10 books in total, the ending better be good or the disappointment will make me ill.

Has anyone else read these books? Without spoilers, what do you think? I’d love to know what others think.

Leave a comment