Notes on a Scandal

image

I’ve been watching this film (starring Cate Blanchet and Judy Dench) a few times over in recent days. As much as I think the story is riveting, there are some things I have trouble seeing as realistic.  Please be aware that there are spoilers ahead.

Firstly; when Dench confronts Cate’s character initially, why doesn’t she just say you’re a crazy old bat. No one will believe you so please sod off. Brilliant actor that Dame Judy is, she conveys the creepy sociopath without much effort. Why would a young, beautiful woman waste any time on pandering to her? It doesn’t make sense to me. This is one of the reasons I keep watching it. I hope that I might find the answer to my confusion. Oh and I guess I must enjoy being creeped out.

Leave a Reply

